What are you paying/being paid. Labourers/trainees

Members online

Simhead

I am a trainee plasterer looking to see if I am being paid my worth. First of all, I am self employed and I ordered my get paid £50 a day. I drive to work everyday and my days start from 6:30am plus the hours drive so around 5:30am, I finish around 4pm most days. I have to labourer twice as hard because the other labourer is useless as f**k but because it is his mate, he won't get rid. I'm putting on half rooms sometimes more. I leave it to a decent standard (not perfect) but it is flat and presentable. I obviously have to buy all my tools. I never complain and I am in everyday regardless.

Im not saying I am good enough to go on my own but I can't help but feel as if I am being massively under paid and under appreciated, the more I do and the higher I set the standards the more I end up having to do and the other labourer having to do less. It is getting me down and I need to advice on if I should stick it out or look elsewhere.

Thanks

I started on 30 a day and was driving from Bedford to Maidenhead for that.... same boat as you....

stick with it and it will pay dividends

My apprentice is on around £48 a day before tax . In his second year . He also gets paid holidays . I’ve boughy all his tools and uniform . Now he’s passed his test I send him on his own little jobs for extra cash . I’d recommend you get your own tools and try doing some weekend work to build yourself up then get yourself on site skimming.