Dying trade

Status
Not open for further replies.

Basher

I keep hearing that plastering is a dying trade what is meant by this? does it mean noone is taking it up as a trade or what? many thanks lads

in the last couple of years I don't recall seeing any apprentice spreads on sites I've been on. On saying that though, if you were a 16 year old again would plastering be the trade you chose? It's bloody hard graft. Not at all like being a sparky...

thats prolly cos all an 'apprentice' has to do now is phone up the government, get someone to come and take a picture of him holding a trowel while the gaffers having a dump and presto, he's a 'tradesman'...

how many shite plasterers did you come acrossin the last 2 years? they'll be the 'apprentices' ;D

True i have only been plastering 7 years i'm 26 but even when i was a apprentice when i 19 there was only 4 of us at college and 1 of them was a 36 yr old so i get what your saying

plastering has been "dieing" for years like when taping started kicking off and drylining started getting bigger

but ive started seeing alot more solid plastering jobs coming up, there will always be a call for a proper plasterer altho the trade is splitting up alot more with these short courses you have a new trade SKIMMER they like to call themselves plasterers tho (bless them) ::)

but then again im not a plasterer either cos i cant screed ;D well not with any great speed anyway

Well i class myselve as a plasterer and i can do all aspects of plastering also coving and floor screeding

RainbowThistlePlastering said:
in the last couple of years I don't recall seeing any apprentice spreads on sites I've been on. On saying that though, if you were a 16 year old again would plastering be the trade you chose? It's bloody hard graft. Not at all like being a sparky...

just put one through but they dont know f**k all at the end of it