taping and jointing

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

berbie38

hi guys wonder if you lads could help, i have a small tape and jointing job to do for a mate tomorrow which i have never done before i have had a read up and get the general idea but still not quite sure about the external corners.should i use jointing tape with metal inside or i have heard you can use thin coat bead. do i use different types of compound for under the tape than above any info would be appreciated???

Use thincoat bead. The metal tape has no strength. Use Fast Set or Easifill for the 1st coat. Easifill can be used as a finish too. Would be easier for you to use Easifill for the lot. It's dearer than Fast Set but because it is lightweight it goes further. It's easy to sand too. You can use mesh for your flat joints, and paper tape for the internal corners.

1st coat joint fller or easyfill then two coats joint cement use a bead and keep all coats tight otherwise when sanding it will kill you and you can go with what tony says which thinking about is what im saying

TonyM said:
Use thincoat bead. The metal tape has no strength. Use Fast Set or Easifill for the 1st coat. Easifill can be used as a finish too. Would be easier for you to use Easifill for the lot. It's dearer than Fast Set but because it is lightweight it goes further. It's easy to sand too. You can use mesh for your flat joints, and paper tape for the internal corners.