Rendering. PLEASE HELP

Members online

G2607

OK first time post so go easy on me..

I have been plastering for about 15 years. I do the occasional rendering job if it's not too big as I work solo. In the last few years I am having constant issues with the top coat of my sand and cement render shrinking, with small hairline cracks.
The mix I am currently doing is:

1st coat
8 Plastering sand
Half bag cement
500ml waterproofer

Top coat
10 plastering sand
Half bag cement
2 shovels hydrated lime.

On existing painted render, thermalite and engineering bricks I do an SBR slurry 2:1 cement to sharp sand. On high suction backgrounds I try and soaking the wall as much as possible. I also use pink Weber mesh on cracked walls.

I understand rendering is not a great idea in certain weather conditions. It's such a shame as I enjoy doing it but very disheartening when a nice job is spoiled by cracks, its got to the point where I'd rather just work indoors! Hopefully someone can tell me where I'm going wrong?

Thanks

Gary - 07712182282
ray donovan omg GIF by Sky

May I refer you to essex andy's newbie rendering mix guide, if it's still there on the stickies. Should be a mandatory text on courses.

Had a look on here but can't seem to find anything. I'm just after a bit of advice. Thought I'd done a fairly decent job. Gutted to see shrinkage but I'm assuming the top coat is drying out too quick

Attachments

• 20231229_152229.jpg
    20231229_152229.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 53
  • Screenshot_20240104_213419_WhatsApp.jpg
    Screenshot_20240104_213419_WhatsApp.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 52
Don't use mastercrete for external render. A builder I worked for used to get it and had similar problems. It would rub up mint then next day little cracks would appear, drove me nuts. After trying allsorts went to ordinary portland cement and everything went back to normal. Whatever additives they put in it must make it shrink.