plaster stands and boards

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisjack231

Private Member
hi this is my first post,looks a great forum btw,
i have been plastering now for about 10 years on and off and last year decided to go it alone and work for myself
anyways recently decided to buy some new tools
i wanted to buy a new plaster stand and board but didnt like the look of anything
what i decided to do is buy 2 steel adjustable trestles and a 15mm ,1000x1000mm pvc board
i own stilts and couldnt see the point of buying 2 stands one for normal work and the other for when using my stilts,
the trestles i bought from screfix for around £14 each and they will adjust up to 51inches
most of the members on here may think im mad buying a solid piece of pvc for a board,but the reason i did was i was so fed up of replacing them after a short peierod of time and felt plastic would not absorb the moisture from plaster
also thought that plastic would clean really well so not to have old cement and plaster build up which ends up coming off when taking plaster from it
you all may think im mad ,but i thought doing it this way it would cover all the situations i needed and would last for ages

doesnt sound mad to me infact you might be on to something there your right plastic prob wont absorb the moisture from the plaster like wood does might give it a try myself ;)

hello mate and welcome ;)
i dont use a stand meself, or stilts for that matter...i always take it straight out the bucket with a bucket trowel and have recently bought one of those fold up ladders that triples up as 2) large very table steps and 3) a 3ft working platform/hop up that does me a 3m ceiling....still gotta drag it around but it works for me... :D