large new build render

Status
Not open for further replies.

james07

Hi everyone i am a self builder and am currntly building a house in Gleneagles Scotland.
I am almost ready for rendering and my architect has specified pwerwall or k rend.

As I am keen to keep cost down ,I am looking ionto 1 scratchcoat sand cement with a some sort of mesh and a 2nd smooth render finish.

if someone is keen to price me on the job that would be great ,also if anyone out there thinks my way of taking job on is not great then please say.
many thanks Jimmy
ps roughly 570m windows to come out of the measurement.

Usually you include windows and doors to cover the price of beading or forming corners and for the time taken to render the reveals. If you take the windows and doors out then expect a lm rate for beading and reveals.

Are you talking about 2 coat render in sand & cement or sand & cement base coat with a k rend top coat? Be careful if you are going for the sand & cement base coat, get it wrong and it will cost you.

Last edited:
I think he wants two coat traditional not krend top just a smooth finish that can be painted.

sand and cement will cost tho, cheap to buy but the labour of trowelin a scratch coat, allowing to fully dry out and then coming back again trowelling a top coat will outweight the price of a bagged mortar render done in one visit/application

I think he wants two coat traditional not krend top just a smooth finish that can be painted.

sand and cement will cost tho, cheap to buy but the labour of trowelin a scratch coat, allowing to fully dry out and then coming back again trowelling a top coat will outweight the price of a bagged mortar render done in one visit/application
I have to disagree on sand and cement being more expensive i would say the labour will be the same but the materials are a lot cheaper.

labour would be alot less flinn much quicker to pump a bagged product than go twice with sand and cement IMO.