K Rendner Garden walls

Status
Not open for further replies.

TrevTT

Hi Guys... & Gals
New to this site. Im A Builder from Cheshire Area. Have a wee problem I hope I can get some advice on please.
Couple of years ago, in that Hot Summer spell I did two K Render jobs back to back. Used my usual plasterer who's Brilliant, and is also an Accredited K render installer.
He did a house extension for us, Which has been fine. He also did some garden walls, that were approx 800mm high from a patio area. We put Coping stones over hanging the tops, and K rendered right down to 10mm above the patio on to a Bell/stop bead. Didn't want to leave a DPC gap as it would show a large break in panle which was only 800 wide to begin with.
MY plater was happy to do this, and I didn't question any DPC bridging issues, As we had put a damp membrane behind & under the wall. Anyway. A couple of years have passed, and we have had several problems. Firstly water drains down the face at the lowest point of the coping which is the pointed joint. and drags soil/dirt (likely in the rain) down the face at every coping joint. leaving lots of lines. Also I think the bottom has been to wet as its now starting to crumble and break away. on the corners, It looks to have shrunk back from the corner beads, and is generally looking crap all round. As we haven't left 150 DPC| line at the bottom, K rend aren't being very helpful. Not after pointing any fingers. Just after some solutions. Customer is adamant they want a Mediterranean look! even though it rains more days than its dry in Manchester.
Just after some solutions that people feel would be adequate. Or should i just stear completely away from a coated surface? Was wondering about traditional sand cement with Seeker /SBR in it? would this hold and last with a painted surface to seal it?
any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks Trev

I personal wouldn't use a through coloured render on retaining/garden walls due to this problem.