Intensive Courses.....again

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

littlewinguk

Before everyone rolls their eyes ;-) i know this may have been asked lots of times before, but perhaps i can put a different slant on it....

Others have asked in the past whether an intensive plastering course, 5 or 10 days, perhaps C&G accredited, could get them a plastering job where they can set up on their own etc etc

Well, although this might be my aim eventually, i am more realistic and appreciate that plastering comes with practice and more practice.

I am 32, with mortgage, bankrupt last year, 3 children. So, as you can imagine, i cant get finance, can barely pay my mortgage, and to add to that am in an office job that i hate. I really hate.
I have been a Security engineer before, CCTV, Alarms etc, but dont want to go back into that. However, i am handy, can use tools, can do a fair bit in my house and will tackle most things.
I dont mind sitting down a researching things first etc

So onto the question - if i was to save and pay for one of these courses, perhaps, £500-£1000, would i be able to come out, practice on my own house to a decent standard ( i dont mind knocking the plaster off some walls to get practice), perhaps do family and friends for little or no money, and then perhaps do some weekend small jobs, or take a few days holiday and do some small jobs, to gain experience and extra money?
Could i realistically pay off the course over a few months by doing some local work? Id be honest with people, tell them i was newly "qualified" and i wouldn't take on anything i couldnt do.
I would also pay for liability insurance - i dont want to be a cow boy.