Insurance job

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dirtybill

Wee bit of advice required regarding insurance work, was called to a job today (burst watertank) and they require a quote for the ceilings in the hallway and the kitchen (totaling 30m2). Anyway my question is, in the kitchen the ceiling has like a stipple effect artexy finish on the ceiling and they want it skimmed over now will i have to bond that as it's quite prominent or will 2 coat multi right over it do or is there anything preperation wise i should consider?

Also as i have never done insurance quotes before is there any specifics i should adhere to in regards to pricing it?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

depends on the thickness of the stipple, id use a primer such as bond it or blue grit prior to a tight coat of bonding,or if the water has shagged the celing over board it if needs be.
as regards insurance jobs there a lottery, plonk another 20% on and be prepared to wait to get paid,aint done an insurance job in years so it might have changed a bt nowadays.

Sorry should have specified, the ceilings are being patched with new gyproc in the areas damaged think i will try the bond it then a coat of bonding just to be sure.

Thanks

i would board ceiling over ...

.don't under price it.....

make sure you find out who is paying .....insurance co direct to you or householder

if its the householder i would get payment on completion as normal

Both ceilings are coved so i dont boarding over is going to be do-able besides there is a joiner going to do the boarding work before hand