Coving adhesive

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cranny77

Hi just wondered what adhesive people use for coving? I've been using wall tile adhesive for about 12 months and must have used 100 lengths since January. But had my first ever comeback where the coving hasn't taken to the walls with no explanation. To be fare I didn't key the walls but I don't do that unless it's on silk paint anyway.

Used cove adhesive today,ran out of fibrefix ,only wanted to fix 1200mm of fibour,so it was either £30 for fibrefix of £8 for cove adhesive,but I'm a rookie what do I know:RpS_unsure:

Last edited:
Make your own covings to see if you are not rookie :p

I'm using The Plasterers Forum Mobile App

Been done with me dad , hassle as need a work shop etc really . I tend to keep away from making moulds etc matey , me grandad probz run most the cornices around my area :RpS_thumbup: Well quite a few and not all him personally but his blokes lol

Tile adhesive is fine. I find it shrinks though so no good for filling out tops and bottoms.
Probably stuck but took the paint on with nit?

But yeah always key it and what about screws? Chance of screws and adhesive failing ???

no need to score the surface and you pva plaster, not wet it .. tile adhesive is what I use, you dont score the surface when fixing tiles, and you pva the surface when fixing tiles, same sysytem as coving... and dont forget tiles weigh a lot more than coving... and whats with the shite concerning coving ?? coving usually means Gyproc ... cornice is fibrous....

@ryanswart are you aware that you come across as a complete prick on here? Are you really in a position to give advice from long term use of materials/tools?
No didn't think so. So wind your neck in a bit, stop sucking up to every supplier that comes on here and most importantly stop ******* pretending to be an expert. Listen/read and learn more from those with real experience.