PVA, SBR or nothing at all?

Members online

Slippery

Hi,
I'm a multi skilled carpenter with 27 years in the trades, I do a bit of plaster skimming but have never done any rendering.
I'm repairing hollows in the render of my 1894 Victorian house and have tried to find as much info as possible before knocking off.
So far, I've gathered that I should use a 4:1:1 sand cement and hydrated lime mix with waterproofer in the base coat but I get conflicting views on whether to use PVA or SBR or just wash the bricks down and render whilst still wet.
Personally, I get the feeling that PVA should be used but don't want to make things any more difficult that they are already.

Any advice please?

TIA

58C8FD68-8DE2-48C7-A050-3C03F7C13653.jpeg

Hi,
I'm a multi skilled carpenter with 27 years in the trades, I do a bit of plaster skimming but have never done any rendering.
I'm repairing hollows in the render of my 1894 Victorian house and have tried to find as much info as possible before knocking off.
So far, I've gathered that I should use a 4:1:1 sand cement and hydrated lime mix with waterproofer in the base coat but I get conflicting views on whether to use PVA or SBR or just wash the bricks down and render whilst still wet.
Personally, I get the feeling that PVA should be used but don't want to make things any more difficult that they are already.

Any advice please?

TIA

Inside or out?

What backing ?

What finish?

Pics?

Hi,

Any advice please?

TIA
Your mix is wrong for a start = recipe for disaster!
Just hire a local and well recommended plasterer and you can rest easy back to butchering wood.

Outside, on brick with a smooth finish
Pics would help

If it's 1894, probably a lime mix

Understand that the sand and cement mix (with lime) you describe is NOT a lime mix.

Just so you know and before it cracks where they join each other.

One moves, one don't.

Just piss in the mix m8
Not that helpful!

Your mix is wrong for a start = recipe for disaster!