Howdy

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jackster

Hi gang,

I am due to start a course in January. It is one 3 hr night a week for 10 weeks.

I probably wont need to attend after the 3rd week, cos smoothing a bit of muck on a wall aint exactly rocket science is it?

I'll probably start up on my own sometime in mid February and undercut all of the local competition, to make sure I get all the work.

CALM DOWN, WIND UP OVER!!!!!!!!!!

In reality I am an ex sparky with 26 years man and boy experience, but I did a law degree and am now a solicitor with a local authority.

I've always had great respect for spreads (didn't know that phrase until I looked in on this forum) and it is a skill that I haven't always wanted to try.

So the course is simply to enable me to have a go at overboarding and skimming my horrible artexed ceilings and making good when I've been a bit heavy handed with the old bolsters. (I still do the odd leccy job)

I've read some comments with amusement on here about sparky's.

Best paid building trade?
Don't get dirty?

Your having a laugh on both counts!

A quick question please?

I've bought most of the tools I think I'll need (mostly MT) but can't decide on the best type of splash brush.

Can you let me know the most suitable type and size please, is it a fence brush, an emulsion brush, masonry brush etc?

Thanks in advance

Jackster

hi jackster..
any old 3" or 4" paint brush will do you as long as its not covered in paint..
try a spray plant mister bottle some swear by em...
although being a solicitor you should be able to afford to pay someone else off the course to come and do the job for tuppence ha'penny and save on doing the course yourself...
plus you get to nip down the pub for an extra 3 hours every week ;D

Thanks ChrisW

Unfortunately, I donate almost half of my salary to my favorite charity (the CSA) so am not quite as well off as I should be.