Young lads plastering

Status
Not open for further replies.

user_removed

Just a bit curious ( and board of reading piss poor threads on how to mix/price/apply render/plaster ) but what's the attitude of younger plasterers these days, I'm finding out that More and more do 12 months and think they can take on the world only to fail.

Hardly any know how to rough/float, cove, screed, s&c render

Not sure on the newer rendering side of things mono, thin coat.

Used to be a trade that took years and years to learn, is it just being keen, or separation of skimming/rendering/plastering into 3 trades or just general downgrading of the trade to say semi skilled.

Maybe the bandwagon jumpers, week courses, free dole course people are coming through and into their own, so to say.

8 yrs and I'm still learning, kind of feel the younger generation don't respect the trade they are getting into anymore.

Ya get mi blood, lol.

Mac

Maybe so, good point. I always listened and took on board what I was being taught tho, never thought I was better than I was.

Old gaffer use to tell me, you can't call yourself a plasterer until you can do this this an this.

What do you mean Henry, the trade is being broken up?

Skimming to board will become the next click together laminate.

Sorry for the blood joke, very out of taste.

This is not a dig at any young spreads coming through by the way or anyone else, just wanted others opinion on how the trade is changing and the attitude towards it compared to 15, 20 yrs ago.

Young or old, doesn't matter as long as you know what your doing. Got a 21 year old who i've put through there apprenticeship and he's a cracking plasterer and i've had some older plasterers out who's work was shocking.

I wasn't plastering 15 years ago but see what you mean. Guys who just screed or just skim. Saying that though I rarely do anything else than s+c and skim for a DPC firm. Can't remember the last time I did any coving.