World Skills UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

john simpson

Did you ever see such a load of shite?
In case you dont know about it , they train a few kids in a trade , plastering for example.
Then for 4 years they learn the same minuscule,antiquated and bullshit part of the trade and go into some sort of Olympics complete with flag waving etc.
total fecking gravy train!
Anyways the kids , fair play to them , think its great and rightly so.
But anyone could be good at something with 1 to 1 tuition over years and years on one aspect of a trade.
In plastering its mainly fibrous based , now ive been plastering for over 20 years and fibrous only forms around 2% of what i do.
So how can someone be the world champion plasterer when they only know a small % of the trade?
total gravy train end of

These chaps only get a few days training over the 4 years and they work hard they are taught about tolerances when beading up and it is quite literally down to the mm...

They are taught a varied aspect of the trade but I attend a lot of these events and the world skills is one of the better ones to be honest. It is mainly drylining from what I can see and is very technical.

If it encourages accuracy and precision I feel it is a building block for them.

Well in my experience , the rest of the ordinary working class kids are forgot about and everyone must get the photo shoots and singular focus on the "worldskills" candidate.
Each training centre invests money so even after the main classes are candidate focused , then they get extra time on evenings etc. No questions asked about where the money comes from.
They are indeed taught a varied aspect buts its small but yes for the candidate , it is great and does give motivation.
But what about the rest of the plasterers? the ones out knocking houses out each week to make money?
Are they not skilled? just because they cant read fiddly plans and ratios etc?