what tool?

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

scotty3968

alright lads
Im new to the plastering game and was wondering what tool you used to get into tight corners..eg the side of a staircase where it goes into a 45 degree angle ish....the last few inches is to small for a trowel ,,,is there something along the lines of a pointing trowel? ive got a set of small tools but dont quite get into the corner
scotty

Pointing trowel is ideal but don't worry too much the skirtng will cover that bit:RpS_thumbsup:

whats wrong with a leaf and square? or a 'trowel' and square i.e. 'small tool'... its only about 2 square inches that you cant get at..
i usually throw a bit on with the 'small tool' and let it go right off before i touch it up with my 'small tool'?

in fact ive always wondered to myself, what is a guage trowel actually designed for?
answers on a postcard please?

p.s. ive tried the pointing trowel, guage trowel (before i throw it back in the van for another 6 months) and to be honest, i can get it 'flat' with any old piece of straightish plastic then finish with the little leaf and square... turn out to be the best tool in the box, specially on council type jobs where youre trying to plaster behind hand basins, bogs etc...

lad i know only uses his gauger to point up his ridges?

get yourself an old credit card,top up card, gift voucher and cut them to size. good for any small margins aswell. good old tip from stolen stilton that

or just use a small tool

a gauging trowel is used to scrape the side of the buckets mate...
ive always used a trowel, i.e finish trowel, prior to 'bucket' trowels...
ive honestly never seen the need for a 'guager'.. brickie trowel, pointer, finish trowel, no bucket has a rounded bottom like a gauger anyway?
besides...
how do you spell guage? or gauge?
redundant tool imo...