what to charge?

Status
Not open for further replies.

b2k99

Hi all, I'm new to the forum so take it easy on me!

I have been plastering and taping for about 10 years, mostly internal with a bit of rendering (sand/cement and krend) in between.

I've spent my time working as a subbie with the odd high priced fiddle to keep me going.

Long story short... Ive decided to work for myself which has been going well so far but I have had a rendering job come up that I'm unsure how to price fairly.

It is a gable end with bad access 6m wide by about 7high
On to dirty stone that will need a fair amount of jetwashing, hacking off and dubbing out, 2 coat render and a tyrolean finish

This is what I have come up with
I'll need a 2 lift Scaffold £192 inc vat, materials £168 (didn't price for any lime though, necessary?) and labour
4 days me and my boy £800

That is £1160.

She just wants the wall tarted up to sell btw

There is also a few little extras included but only small things so I won't bore you with it lol

I am more than capable of doing the job albeit with a bit off messing about with the tyrolean gun

Does this sound like a fair price? Do you think I am being too cheap?
Works been tight since xmas and don't want to scare the woman but I also want to earn out of it... I'm sure you all understand

I'm in the west country if that helps lol

Any advise or criticism will be greatly received, thanks for looking

Way too cheap but we dont talk rates on here. Scaffold is unrealistic price.

Last edited:
Way too cheap but we dont talk rates on here. Scaffold is unrealistic price. Triple it.
Thanks for your response mate.

I have had the price for the scaffolding already, he is cheap but I've used him before (platform for a large stairway ceiling £205+vat, had it for a month)
sorry, I didn't realise not to discuss rates, do you think I have allowed for enough time for the job?