the ultimate sin

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonnyg

today i plastered over wallpaper had no option i originally quoted for the job of taking wallpaper of but when i started steaming the wall i noticed the wall behind the paper was drylined they had painted over the wallpaper which helped seal the wall the paper underneath the paint wasn't going to come of easy and would of taken the protective lining of the boards anyway i put 1/1 pva with a bit of sand in and skimmed with multi has anyone else had to do this its my first time ive ever comprimised a job
but the finish was excellent but wouldnt do it again will never say ill take wallpaper of again

steve cov said:
get out. and turn the lights off before you leave. cowboy.
so what would you have done it was either take paper of and all the backing and be left with paper or plaster over the paint on the paper either way it was a botch job

best thing to do mate is tell the customer that it is an unforeseen extra, just say look i have found the paper is straight onto plasterboard and it is ruining the board so i can either screw new boards over the top of these ones or i can strip the paper as gently as possible and make repairs to the boards were needed, tell them how much extra it will cost so that you are not out of pocket. explain that are not prepared to do them a bad job as you REPUTATION is at stake, and see what they say. 9 out of 10 they will understand and pay up but if they dont walk away. that way you might not get any cash but you get to keep your name. reputation is everything get a bad one and you can kiss your plastering career goodbye ;)

kirk johnstone said: