Render of pine-end of old terraced house wall made of stone and old motar

Members online

No members online now.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MALCOLM

Hi I'm new to the forum, could anyone advise what are the best PAREX or WEBER products to use on the exterior pine end wall of my old terraced house (south wales)
Currently there is a sand cement render which is cracked and has allowed damp and water to ruin the inside of some of the walls. I am planning to take all of the old render off. The wall i think will be constructed of stone, brick and the old motar.
Should i be using lime type renders ? I have read that the render should allow the wall to breath but the new type systems also do this ? Any advise would be appreciated.

I may be a little old fashioned....

Whats wrong with going back with sand and cement??

We recently did a similar job when the render had blown and destroyed the internal walls plaster but now its all dried out and looking good.

I have zero experience with any other type of render so probably get a better answer off some one else :)

why not mate? something happened? its been something ive been trying to avoid meself...

not had a problem with the 25% rule, i only think you might have a problem with it if you had a whole house render removed and the local planning were involved. The reason I would use Mono danny is the time scale, with sand and cement you would have to scratch , leave for 2-3 weeks, then top, leave 2-3 weeks and paint. By using a prerend like highbond, mesh inbedded and then top with mono which would only be about a 1 1/2 weeks start to finish. plus like Paul said, the renders are breathable. no brainer in my book