OCR cracking help advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

dai dog

Hi guys, I sprayed a 30m panel over an existing s+c scratch, floated it up lovely, only to find it had cracked all over! The rep said I should have never gone over s+c! He also said if I'd rendaid the scratch, he wouldn't guarantee that either! Although I do know someone who has rendagriped an old scratch and gone over it with no problems! Instead of using the customers house as an experiment, & losing more material, I'm considering doing the top coat in s+c! But I'm hoping someone on the forum may have encountered this before & has a solution!? Cheers Rhys.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 620
Hope one of the lads can help pal? I've never used OCR before?? Always makes me laugh when reps make excuses when things go wrong :rolleyes)

How thick did you coat it up? Was it sunny and windy when you did that by any chance mate?

Hi guys, I sprayed a 30m panel over an existing s+c scratch, floated it up lovely, only to find it had cracked all over! The rep said I should have never gone over s+c! He also said if I'd rendaid the scratch, he wouldn't guarantee that either! Although I do know someone who has rendagriped an old scratch and gone over it with no problems! Instead of using the customers house as an experiment, & losing more material, I'm considering doing the top coat in s+c! But I'm hoping someone on the forum may have encountered this before & has a solution!? Cheers Rhys.

Dai dog did you rub it up to soon ? how wet was it when you rubbed it up ? Does it sound hollow round the area where it cracked ?

Looks like shrinkage cracks caused by too much suction to me, could be wrong though. S+C substrates are prone to high suction rates if not prepared first. I don't think any manufacturer would guarantee a way forward from here I'm sorry to say as the render blowing is a distinct possibility.