Newbie could do with some advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stevey25

Hi all, this is my first post on the forum im 25 years old from Cambridge and basically need some help and advice with my current situation.

I've always wanted to learn a trade since I was around 18 but could never get an apprenticeship since there just were not many around for guys like me who are not school leavers and dont really have any experience.

However I recently found an advert for a trainee plasterer in the local rag! The ad read something like- trainee plasterer wanted to labour at first and slowly learn the trade of plastering £100 per week.

I applied for the job and got it! The guy is just a one man band working in the surrounding area doing plastering and rendering but heres the thing. Ive been working with him now for about 2 months and i've just really been labouring the whole time, i've learnt to mix a good bit of muck up and prep rooms, walls, ceilings for plastering and rendering. I have helped with the odd bit of scratch coat when rendering and a small bit of bonding but since i only make £20 a day do you think this sounds fair? I mean could this guy just be taking me for a ride or is this a good way to learn the trade?

I did suggest to him that maybe we could set up some boards that I could practise getting some plaster up on and he just sort of laughed it off and said well that would be wasting my time I don't have the time to do that. "you might not feel like your learning anything but you are".

Is it worth staying? we hardly work a full week so i hardly even make £40 a week sometimes, I was thinking maybe i could learn abit more with him and then apply to some other companies once i have abit more experience.

Would like to see what you guys think, thanks for taking the time to read this and i will look forward to hearing some of your advice!

hes taking the piss to be blunt.

so your 25 and making 40 quid a week sometimes, how are you surviving on that.