New to plastering

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

craigssj4

Hi there my names craig and im from north east england (sunderland/newcastle area's)

Finally got sick of the 9-5 sales job and done a plastering course earlier in year, passed it fine and got nvq2, however i have only now done plastering in my own home (few ceilings and 1 large wall) and also a few small jobs at friends homes, i am looking to do plastering full time instead of my office job.

The only thing holding me back is my confidence in plastering large areas because i haven't had much time to practice because of working full time, How did other people take the jump? Going from a guaranteed income to as and when?

What i would love to do is work full time as a labourer for a plasterer as a kind of apprentice, i feel this would help my confidence and also fine tune my plastering and time skills. I've even bought a van in which i keep my tools in purely because the miss's doesn't like them around the flat! so ive made a commitment by doing this.

Starting to pull me hair out and getting stressed because i know id enjoy being selfemployed ten times more than being a wage slave!

Any advice would be great in what to do

Thanks in advance!
Craig

Welcome to the forum ;) advice a ....... work with a plasterer for a while and learn as much as you can , come on this forum and read up as much as you can , do the best job you can do dont ever rush and be tidy , dont worry about speed that comes with time , best of luck . So is there a job going where you are ? ;D

hi thanks for getting back to me so quick

just wondering how would you go about contact othering plasterers to work for them? just ring or get address and send letter explaining?

Any plasterers in north east need a cheap labourer once a week ?? ha