hardwall tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

chesblues

i do all trades for my work basically anything that needs doing on someones house
i'm not a experienced plasterer (only self taught so probably have some bad habits) and do plastering whenever it is needed on a job
but this normally only entails doing a reskim or back to bare brick, dot and dab and skim
i'm very much a perfectionist and my skimming is to a fairly good standard but i haven't done much in the way of using hardwall and have a large wall to do
it's the hall stairs and landing wall that goes the full length of the house 9 meters long 2.8 meters high at hall and landing but higher up the stairs @ 3.1 meters
the brickwork is all over the place (30mm lumps and swamps in the wall) so plaster boarding is no good as it would sit to far off the wall and not match up with the first and second floor stairs which are above each other so i was going to hardwall it, it's back to brick, cleaned, and pva'd

being as the wall is so bad mostly up the stairs the top and bot walls prob only 15mm out whats the best process i.e should i start with a couple of coats just on the stair section where it will be the deepest then poss only one all over(there is light from windows shining top and bottom right across the wall so it will need to be pretty flat)

would this wall be considered large to do on your own if i was as quick as you guys, i don't mind a bit of graft but to me it looks pretty large so obviously just worried about it going off before i have got it flat (just brought the diamond float from refina for the job and already have a long float which i use for screeding and several sizes of featheredge)
how many coats would you expect to have to do on a job like this, the max thickness and at what point in drying do you put the next coat on
in what time frame should i be aiming for