''Down time''

Status
Not open for further replies.

RMK

Apart from sitting on your hands waiting for the phone to ring what do you guys do if you haven't any work on?

The only reason I ask is because this is my first year in business and the quietest time of the year is just around the corner. I'm ok up until Christmas at the mo, but wouldn't mind having a back up plan if the worst should happen whereby I get no calls in December for work to book in for January.

There must be some skill we have as plasterers which would enable us to set up a 'side line' business to rude us out through the tough times. I have builder friends who carve stone in their down time, a tree surgeon friend who manufactures ornaments out of the timber he has dropped in the previous months.

Any ideas?

Good attitude mate.
Most of my work is domestic tho, so not sure how that'll work.
I assume you're a site worker...?

Sell a load of stuff on ebay,just think a million items for one pound =one million pounds.[wishing]

I don't like sitting on my hands, i prefer them doon my shorts. It keeps me out of trouble and costs nowt!! :RpS_laugh:

rent a unit on a farm and start teaching people to plaster in a week. seriously though, a couple of times ive been down to my last few days and works always come in. got let down on a job i was supposed to start today, 2 weeks work. a couple of phone calls and i'm booked up for weeks again. if you're good something will always come up mate