Bull nose corner!?!?! i really need a bit of help

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

smw

I am currently working in a Chapel and the customer wants me to "save" the main arched window and recreate its original bull nosed corner. The window reveals are both back to the stone work and so are the walls. I do have the actual curve at the top of the window to use as a guide but its still a tad daunting as ive never really done stuff like this before. The walls will be being dabbed with insulated board and stopping about 150mm before the window reveals. My plan is to pin a piece of timber down the wall edge of the reveal leaving myself about a trowels width and render in stages till its nice and flat then do the same on the wall so im leaving myself 2 nice straight edges to work to then fill in the corner and round off. I imagine that this method is totally wrong and most of you experienced will be reading this and either laughing and shaking your heads but im a newbie to bull noses so after youve picked yourselves up off the floor send me your advice please!

ta very much:RpS_scared:

just so there is no confusion....... the reveal dives back about 400mm from the wall to the window and the whole thing is about 3 meters from top to bottom and its all bare stone.

If its a basic bull nose,you could make a template for it and run it in a bit like corniche,you could do it with a straight edge just using it to shape the nose, I think template would be best In my humble opinion

iphone pics are utter shite. got my missus on the case on sunday doing some proper pics for a website ive never got around to having done.....ill post some asap. cheers.