Bear with me...

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

thebearbeef

Hi all, my name's Steve.

i'm kind of a plastering mongrel, i've got 14 years experience but i got out the game (famous last words) for a couple of years and came/got forced back in to it.

me and a mate work in a 2 gang but looking to take it more serious this time round - been back on the tools 2 years- and make something of myself.

we're "in" with a couple of good companies so at the point of taking people on and giving it a go pretty soon but won't be a success overnight.

happy to get any advice or abuse anyone has.

also been saying these nela trowels are shite but had a proper go with one on saturday and now eating humble pie. I do like humble pie.

thanks, no i've not tried any of the speed skim tools. i'm kind of stuck in a time warp i think. can't get passed thinking a marshall towns is all u need but slowly opening my eyes.

seen a few lads polishing with the refina plastic trowels and they seem to clean all the splash marks right off.

thanks, no i've not tried any of the speed skim tools. i'm kind of stuck in a time warp i think. can't get passed thinking a marshall towns is all u need but slowly opening my eyes.

seen a few lads polishing with the refina plastic trowels and they seem to clean all the splash marks right off.

The speed skim is definitely worth a look especially this time of year, it'll knock down finish on board work as flat as a witches tit and being plastic it won't bring anywhere near as much moisture to the surface as metal.

is that the difference with the plastic tools then they don't bring the scum to the top as much? im getting loads of tiger marks in my finishing lately and to be totally honest im lost why. ive not changed anything over the past 5-6 years except to a new permashape 6 months ago ish. glad i joined this forum, brains to pick and answers to find. im not a rough sod by the way!