Another new member

Members online

No members online now.

rroobb21

Hi all just wanted to introduce my self rob here
I'm having a career change at the ripe old age of 42.Im an engineer at the moment with a full apprenticeship and have done the same thing since school.
Iv not enjoyed my job for yrs and fed up moaning about it without doing anything ,the same hrs being controlled by bell end managers has finally pushed me over the edge haha
So iv booked in for a city and guilds /nvq qualification course early next yr and planning on after getting bit of experience learn how to venetian plaster
Will start by doing the odd job on weekends and in between shifts just to gain as much experience as I can.
Anyway wishing everyone a happy xmas

Honestly mate you'd be off your head to leave a job in engineering to start out as a plaster at 42. You've no idea how hard it's going to be to first get to a good level and second have enough work and contacts that you will make money. All the best anyway

Do it bud and if you stick to the Venetian we won't have a problem;)......only joking good luck you will need it it's a hard job to get into at your age! Get ready for muscles to ache that you didn't know you had. Maybe the Venetian stuff a good idea but what they teach you ain't gonna be enough you probably need to jump on with a Venetian guy as a labourer willing to learn on a lower rate if anyone will take you, as us plasterers are lonely miserable c**ts that hate people! That's me anyway good luck welcome to the forum:bailando:

Welcome to the forum.Don’t mean to sound negative but you’d be mad to give up a job as an engineer to become a plasterer at 42.But then again stranger things have happened.Good luck.