Advice appreciated. Scenario: Bare chimney breast with Edwardian arch fireplace inset

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

ianlinux

Hi, I'm a DIY plasterer with some experience doing float & set, skimming with usual plasters but not sand/cement/lime rendering. If the answers are already out there on this forum, please accept my apologies in advance but I have done a search to no avail.

1) Chimney breast. I don't want to dot 'n' dab plasterboard and would rather float and set as the rest of the room. The chimney breast plaster was previously hacked off (inc. sides), to accommodate a wood burner - soon to be fixed. The background has been PVAd, so for the scratch coat I intend to use Bonding. However, I've never used Hardwall (only Browning) before and would like to have a go.

Q1) Do you think I could safely use Hardwall final float coat on a Bonding scratch coat or just go Bonding all the way?

2) Beading for arch. Obviously for the chimney breast sides, the usual angle beading is no problem, but the arch is proving a headache. I could buy a pair of arch formers and marry these up to the vertical bottoms of the arch with some normal angle bead but being metal, I've read that the expansion and contraction due to heat variations might cause the plaster (breast side) and render arch inset sofit side to crack. So I then thought of the flexible plastic beading you can buy, but the stuff I've researched seems too narrow for float and set and would have to be built out somehow.

Q2) What would experienced plasterers suggest for beading around an arch where a wood burner is to eventually go?