New joiner to the forum from North Ayrshire looking for training advise

Iain McMillan

Hello all,

Yet another newbie I hear your say..... After some guidance from all you hardened pro's, I've been plastering for just a couple of years now, bought an old house a few years ago which needed fully skimmed as well as some re-sheeting, I worked alongside a plasterer helping him out and learning a few new skills along the way. On completion of that project the place was soon up for sale and I started the whole process over again last year in a new place. I've been doing the odd bathroom, kitchen hallway etc for people as well.

I absolutely love plastering it's probably the only job I've ever done which I have an enormous feeling of self satisfaction when it's complete. So I am thinking of possibly going down this road on a full-time basis, however most jobs advertised want a CSCS card in place, can anyone recommend where I can obtain a crash course NVQ2 and CSCS accreditation? I live in North Ayrshire so somewhere commutable would be preferred.

U are just like me mate I love plastering. Roll on tomorrow so I can get out of my comfortable bed. And go plastering I love it don't even know why I go home in the evening.

If it's not plaster it's a Disaster

Nice introduction, welcome at least your straight up a lot of the multi turds on here don't post

From Joiner to plasterer tbh joiners get more money

Hello all,

Yet another newbie I hear your say..... After some guidance from all you hardened pro's, I've been plastering for just a couple of years now, bought an old house a few years ago which needed fully skimmed as well as some re-sheeting, I worked alongside a plasterer helping him out and learning a few new skills along the way. On completion of that project the place was soon up for sale and I started the whole process over again last year in a new place. I've been doing the odd bathroom, kitchen hallway etc for people as well.