Another reskimm

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dr.B

I've got a customer who is "tarting up" a property to sell on. I am to skimm over some artex ceilings, which is normally no problem.

Most of the ceilings are fine but one is cracked in many places but not loose or bouncy. It seems solid.

If I grit and over skimm I'm sure the cracks would come back so I have suggested that I overboard it but as usual with most customers these days he does not want to pay the extra.

I've seen a few posts on here with adding fibres to the first coat.
I've never tried this before myself but am always willing to try something new. Will it help in this case do you think?

I've told my customer I'm not guaranteeing this ceiling.

everything helps but i would tape the cracks as well, to be honest i used to use fibers but i dont think they do alot.

Just scrim the cracks and as you say give the customer a note to say that you will not guarantee this ceiling due to not plastered to your recommended spec.

By the time you have primed it, meshed it, bonded it you might as well have boarded it.

I know! It does my head in! You want to do a quality job and end up fu***ng about trying trying to make sure it does not fail when it would be easyer to just board it and skimm!
(Customer is an actual bricklayer)

for peace of mind deri, board it, if he does not want to pay the extra ,walk away, because believe me if anything goes wrong he will come straight back to you

I know! It does my head in! You want to do a quality job and end up fu***ng about trying trying to make sure it does not fail when it would be easyer to just board it and skimm!
(Customer is an actual bricklayer)

It is annoying, and usually only £75 - £100 difference. Just advise them the ceiling is highly likely to show hairline cracks.

for peace of mind deri, board it, if he does not want to pay the extra ,walk away, because believe me if anything goes wrong he will come straight back to you