Tiger Marks

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blade

Hello all

Nice to find a plasterers forum :RpS_thumbup: , can anyone shed some light on this problem , ive been plastering for many many years , but recently ive found my setting is getting tiger marks ( drags ) in it , tried using wetter , stiffer setting , watering it , keeping it dry , allsorts . Its not all the time but when it happens it wont trowel out :RpS_wink:

Any ideas

Blade

Most Of the time it is coursed by trowellin to fast or to much presure don't grip the trowell to tight a sponge float can cure the problem if court early:RpS_thumbup:

Ill give it a go thanks , ive been plastering for 30 years and to a pretty reasonable standard , but this is doing my head in

Blade

Cant say to much at the moment but I did a biggish job recently 2500m2 and we were having all kinds of problems with tiger stipes etc, British Gypsum came to site and took a few samples and have admitted liability due to a faulty product.

we are resolving the issue between us and I will report in full when the deal is done.

Rich

I spoke with BG rep recently about tiger stripes with board finish, and an issue with multi setting too quick he said that they had ballsed up the winter mixes as they make it set quicker to compensate for the cold weather and the gypsum they have used is too pure causing the stripes. They are now mixing the summer mixes and the bad stuff will phase out

Multi is deffo going off quicker, glad you said that, I laid on a 20m2 ceilng other day with a labe knocking up for me and was rushing round like a ****, normally get 20m2 on me own a piece of piss!

And regarding tiger stripes and dragging, I have also been getting this recently, the plaster is very playdoh like, needs water much earlier on!