Starting Out

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

parker26

Hi All,

I know this is probably the same old question but.............

I’m just starting out in plastering, After looking at all the training courses about and talking to some friends that our self employed plasterers I think it would be best to tag along with a friend and get him to teach me rather than paying for a course.

I’m just unsure as to what happens next? I have bills to pay so just I can’t just be a labourer or go to college. I’m thinking trying to get some weekend work (working for myself) and then go from there?

I would love to get a job with a company but after looking about it seems you need a NVQ level 2 in plastering to get a job but to get an nvq you need to be a self employed or employed plasterer?

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

I’ve been Dave and you’ve been a great audience....

How can you get weekend work dave if your not a plasterer, you'll either have to stay with a friend for a year or two. leave Any sooner and personally I think your asking for trouble, or go on one of those dreaded trade ruining courses

you dont just pick a trowel up and magically plaster a wall,
you got to learn,and as said how you going get weekend work in peoples houses.
so your saying your going to learn in peoples houses.

CHANCER ALERT

Stick to your one-liners Dave.once you've mastered a wall you could say didn't he do well .try this one pal MINGE BAG PAY FOR COURSE .good game good game nice to see you nice not a lot etc etc

ha ha what a funny lot you are on ere. I’ve been plastering on and off for a while with a friend and trying to learn it’s just now that I want to get down and really try to get some more training and possibly look to work for myself.

It was just a question looking for abit of advice from someone who might have been in the same situation before.

Bagrat ? More like bag head. Guess you paid to do a course then soft lad ?