Selfbuilder in Dorest Tech Question on Plasterboard

Members online

No members online now.

Graham Huggett

As a self builder I am about to put up ceiling plasterboard in my newly built retirement bungalow.
FYI The build is traditional bricks/therms throughout, with a large traditional truss and cut roof.
Its taken me 3 years to get this far.

Ceiling rafters are typically 7" x 2", and I am using 2 "x 3" noggins every 2ft with drywall screws every 9". Long term it will be skimmed (by a plasterer) along with my dot & dab boards on the walls.

1/ Knauf web site seems to suggest taper board, other web site suggest square board.
My designer also says square board. What would forum recommend?

2/ I intent to butt the joints leaving no gap. However manufacturers say upto 3mm. What would forum recommend?

3/Assuming square board do I "Joint filler" the joints and screw holes and use a scrim or a paper over the top which in my opinion will raise the joint a little on square board. What would forum recommend?

Don't want cracks appearing but its a bungalow, upstairs is loft space, therefore the rafters should not be subject to much movement.

Get it screwed every four inch dw about straight or taper either will work for plastering no gaps needed let him do the rest especially the dot and dab, tbf you'd ideally take a back seat on this one and let the plasterer crack on with it quick and easy leaving you a paintable finish

As a self builder I am about to put up ceiling plasterboard in my newly built retirement bungalow.
FYI The build is traditional bricks/therms throughout, with a large traditional truss and cut roof.

Ceiling rafters are typically 7" x 2", and I am using 2 "x 3" noggins every 2ft with drywall screws every 9". Long term it will be skimmed (by a plasterer) along with my dot & dab boards on the walls.

1/ Knauf web site seems to suggest taper board, other web site suggest square board.