Repairing damage

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frehley

Hi
I have just purchased a house and while the walls have been skimmed, whilst I was replacing damaged floorboards I had to remove some skirting. The skirts were sealed and thus they have damaged the skimmed wall. I am a very unable novice at all this type of thing and would really appreciate help in fixing this mess. My profile picture should show the damage.
Thanks
Steven

On the picture you should see a white line where the skirt was, and above it where the skimmed plaster has come away.
Thanks

Fix fresh skirting and just fill the damaged area with a couple of coats of filler failing that get a plasterer in

Cheers Spunky.
Did you look at the picture? The skim has kinda snapped off. I still have the skirt to go back on, but really hoped I did not need a plasterer for such a small job. Would filler smooth over the area?
Cheers

You should be able to fill and sand that mate. any gaps when you put the skirting back on can be filled with decorators caulk.

Thanks Artisan998
Great so something like Pollycell one fill or finishing skim and then lightly sand over when dry?
Thats all been a huge help
Cheers