Rendering

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

fredfriedrich

Been asked to render a 6 foot exterior wall
Need to confirm whether it's 1 part sand 3 parts lime?????

When do i apply the second coat???

how do i mix it up?

Cheers for any advice

this is what I use,

1/ scratch coat,,4 sand, 1 cem, 1 lime,waterproofer.
2/ floating coat ,, 6 sand ,1 lime ,1 cem.

Leave the scratch coat 72 hours to dry

Widdow how do you find it when topping with lime in scratch? As when ive used lime in scratch found it went off super fast. so what ive always used is 4 and 1 with waterproofer holme sand scratch and 5, 1 and 1 with waterproofer and holme sand top coat never had a problem with that, rubs up lovely.

sorri im new to S&C wot is the LIME? iv no it as
1 scrach coat /sand cement warter proofer
2 coat /sand cement FEB

iv not done much backing and rendering..not to sure how long s&C takes to set for rubbing up seem like hours and hours when ever iv done it.

hi bodplaster,

To be honest I have never had a problem with it going off too quick? what was the weather conditions like when you experienced this mate?

Im not sure what the weather was like as it happened along time ago, but im sure it went like this, we were top coating with our normal mix 5, 1 and 1 and had freak storm, it all went pear shaped so to pull it back we just scratched it all up, went back when weather was better and gave it a slight wet down as we normally do and laid it all on, by the time we got back on it to float it down it was sucking folid, it took buckets of water to pull it back, and i dont like the finish you get when you struggle floating up, looks all patchy, but it has happened a few times when you got a barrel of muck left over and just wack it on as a scratch found it has gone off quicker than the mixes without the lime, so we dont use lime in the scratch coat on big jobs maybe if its a small extension.

do i need to add a waterproofer if it's a free standing exterior wall.