Raising Damp

Members online

No members online now.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chris16

Can anyone help?

Been asked to do a job which has a serious damp problem the customer has tried allsorts to get rid but apparently there is nothing that can be done, they have asked be to try and tidy it up l was wonder if there is any sort of damp retardant that can be put onto the bricks to try and slow it down, l was going to use dri-coat as the backing coat, the customer is going to paper the wall so not even bothered if it is skimed can you paper onto dri-coat or do you have to skim

Thanks

Chris :-/

Sounds like one for Bigsegs.
Sounds bit strange to me. I'm no damp expert but it's gotta be coming from somewhere. Maybe the issue is there's nothing can be done they are willing to pay for.

If damp is ever an issue I'd use S&C with waterproofer and skim.

No way I'd guarantee it though but make sure they know that.

Segs?
:)

It looks like the damp is coming from the water table which seams to have risen over the last few years, the house is a 100 years plus so no damp course was put it, theye have had quite alot of work done to try and stop it but it just keeps coming back they know it will come back l was just hoping to try and give them as long as possible its only a small alcove that is being done so they are not to fussed what it looks like

Well if they are happy to accept all that and no guarantee I'd do what I said and S&C float and skim it using waterproofer in the S&C. My understanding is that dri coat goes over damp proofing but I've never used it and may be wrong.

Not sure whether there's anything else you could do like tanking etc. As I say I knw nothing about damproofing. Or tanking TBH!

Any ideas chaps?