Plaster over painted Artex

Croma

Looking for advice how to plaster over a painted Artex wall. I've had a sample analysed which confirmed the Artex contains asbestos (Chrysotile).

It looks as though when the Artex was applied, it was patterned with something like a wallpaper scraper, which has left high (1 to 5 mm) raised lines on the surface. Obviously because of the asbestos, I can't scrape any of the Artex off.

Looking for advice how to plaster over a painted Artex wall. I've had a sample analysed which confirmed the Artex contains asbestos (Chrysotile).

It looks as though when the Artex was applied, it was patterned with something like a wallpaper scraper, which has left high (1 to 5 mm) raised lines on the surface. Obviously because of the asbestos, I can't scrape any of the Artex off.
Bonding in first coat of multi, let it go right off for an hour or so then second skim coat

Thanks for the replies.

I've never used bonding before, and I think getting a flat surface is probably beyond my skill set.
Bond and skim or overboard and skim, pretty much the standard.

I'd be more comfortable boarding it, but are the varying heights of the raised Artex lines likely to be a problem? Because of the raised lines, there will be a lot of hollows behind the boards.
PICT1709.JPG

Thanks for the replies.

I've never used bonding before, and I think getting a flat surface is probably beyond my skill set.

I'd be more comfortable boarding it, but are the varying heights of the raised Artex lines likely to be a problem? Because of the raised lines, there will be a lot of hollows behind the boards.
View attachment 38730
Dot and dab always has alot of hollows behind the board so will make no difference. If you're confident boarding it then I'd go down that route

Get an old plasterer to do it.

Thanks for the replies.

View attachment 38730