Parex Monorex fail

Members online

JKS Prop

Hello All.

I am a general builder and undertook an over render to a house in Plymouth. The existing render was solid so it was agreed to use monorex over the top. At the time the only available primer from Parex was Microgobetis 2000. The walls were cleaned and prepared and then a coat of Microgobetis was applied. My plasterer then coated the whole house with Monorex. The job was done in March so the weather was just about right for render. Not Hot, not cold. My plasterer is very experienced in using parex,K rend etc and we have never had any problems.

Two years after the job was completed minor cracks started to appear on the top of the gable end wall. Hairline cracks but everywhere like crazy paving which would show up when wet. Another two years down the line the whole house has gone like it. Nothing has blown but the Parex seems to be very soft. You can scratch it with a finger nail.

We have had the rep and tech guy out from Parex who both said they have never seen this before. Trouble is their boss has said it was all mixed wrong and wiped his hands of it. I cant see that my plasterers mixed the whole house wrong when we have used Parex alot and never had a problem.

Client wants a hack off and re-render. Insurance dont want to know. I have suggested a stabilising solution to harden the render and then paint with a decent paint but she wont go for this.

Anyone else experienced this problem.
Cheers
James

The mixing issue is a stretch in my mind. The plasterer wouldn't have been able to spread it if it wasn't mixed.

Parex doesn't need that much mixing anyway.

Hi James,

Very strange to hear this, especially with Parex. They have a reputation for being a very good manufacturer of products and do tend to stand by their customers.

What was the substrate the Micro Gobetis went onto? Was a specification raised for the job?

image.jpg
Hi.