Norwich based trainee/apprentice plasterer seeking work

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

lilmofie

My partner is 31 and currently employed as a chef although he is desperate to seek a career as a plasterer. He is a complete novice but is hard working and meticulous with an eye for detail and the patience of a saint. Please contact me if you can help, even if it's to give some advice or point him in the right direction :RpS_thumbup:

With respect, the right direction is to keep on cooking, there's no room for 31 year old trainee plasterers in the current climate I'm afraid :RpS_thumbup:

At least he has a job, I have never known so many people i know out of work for so long,joiners, plumbers, plasterers,painters etc tough times:RpS_crying:

Thank you bubbles... is it really that bad at the moment?

It is for a lot of the lads, yes. Apart from the massive downturn in available work due to the recession there is still a huge number of Eastern European citizens in the UK who are willing to work cheap, thus making it a BAD IDEA to even think about entering the construction industry at the moment. On the other hand we all need to eat, so keep on cooking is my advice :RpS_thumbup:
And PLEASE don't be sucked into going on a course cos he will NOT leave it well enough equipped to make the living most course-providers would have you believe :RpS_thumbup:

A little disheartening but very a valid point has been made about foreign workers. He is still keen though :/ Back to the drawing board maybe.... I can see how miserable cheffing is making him and with a newborn I know he want's to provide more for our son than what minimum wage can. We're both keeping an open mind regarding our career options though. Perhaps if he ever managed to gain an apprenticeship then work may of picked up by the time he was qualified? I'm guessing that's a big if though...