new starter

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

deepseaball

I'm very new to all things plastery so I apologise if this is already covered somewhere but here goes..
I've asked to plaster a fair sized utility room which I want to plaster for nothing, one, because it's for a relative and two, I want the practice. (Actually, I suspect it doesn't need doing but they're letting me plaster it for that reason)
My question is.....all the walls are either concrete block or thermalite breeze block, and painted. My experience with plaster is limited to knocking the stuff up for other blokes to spread it so I've only got myself to blame for not paying attention. I was always too busy staggering around gasping for breath. Anyway I digress. I ASSUME I can't PVA it and skim? Or can I? Christ! What if it's gloss? Should I feign illness?
Grateful for ANY advice!

scrape off any loose paint. buy something called thistle bond it, or wickes bonding agent. roller/brush it on. let it dry. hardwall and skim.

or sbr the wall ...or dot and dab.. don't know why i assumed you wanted to wet plaster.

Yup! I kind of want to use trowels and messy stuff because I want/need the practice. I've no objection in principle to boards and dot'n'dab but I expect there'll be a fair few heavy-duty items put on the wall. Anyway what's 'sbr'?
Thanks again, and sorry 'bout my ignorance. A lot of this game is terminology innit?

if you need to practice then why not wet plaster a couple of walls and dot and dab a couple. just to try the different systems out. dot and dab is easier to learn but alot of people. including plasterers. prefer the wet plastering method. maybe you should get someone to show you how to do it first. then try?