New plaster cracked

Members online

-sean-

Hello all, I’m a newbie here, not a plasterer just a DIY’er. Had a go at plastering a small section between two doors at the weekend. Originally took it back to brick but found bricks behind had been hacked and very uneven. Too many high spots so couldn’t board over so tried to flatten as best I could with two coats of hardwall, then did two coats multifinish next day. Looked ok-ish (for an amateur) but then dried and cracked from floor to half way up next to door frame.

Any tips on what I did wrong?

Top half had some wiring channel coming down next to the timber lining so I stuck some scrim tape over it thinking it’d help the topcoat stick, that bit hasn’t cracked. Maybe I needed something over the timber below too.

Reckon if I tape over the crack, PVA and skim again it’ll sort it?

Thanks
ED062E7E-9888-48AF-8C5E-0D108042F107.jpeg
082D9438-2D1D-4F04-AF1E-20DAB5D953A4.jpeg
2AFCDD18-F965-40AF-AB68-D4301179C053.jpeg

Sorry they’re not the best photos! Yeah there is a timber frame behind where it cracked, around the door. Looked like some 2” thick timber inside the door lining.

To be honest multifinish may have been way too thick on that side too as I was trying to bring it out a bit to the architrave.

Suppose opening and closing the door might have moved the frame a bit maybe.

Looked ok to me when it was wet, then it dried and a chuffing great crack appeared!

The top half where the cabling conduit is seems ok with no cracks (so far!). Crack has appeared from dimmer switch down to the floor on the right hand side.

Maybe I was chancing my luck with the depth of hardwall (probably over an inch in places). Possibly sand/cement would have been better but I think I would have made a right hash trying to get that on the wall!

Yep I should think the plastic trunkiin wasn’t fixed properly and it has bounced out! I bet you was ducking about with the architrave after completed n it’s popped