Multi finish time between coats

Members online

drying time between coats ????

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

platinum

question 1 i know theres various factors that alter this curing time including surface, ventilation, room temp etc.... but roughly is it about 30 mins after mix to get your first coat on before starting back at same place for second coat???? and again you got about another 30 mins to get this on?????? i know your ment to finger test it but just wanted a rough time scale????????? thanks pro's

question 2 also incase you hadnt guessed that i'm new to this..... ive been told you can buy stop bead to separate big area's..... where from???? looked everywhere i can only see angle bead......

and finally 3rd and final question can you use plasterboard beading on normal walls or should you only use mini mesh beads??

Thanks pro's

you can get stop beads fro most if not all places b&q wickes and certainly all merchants, the finger test is really the only way to judge when to put second coat on as its not only the background but weather conditions aswell.

By the way what is the poll, what are you asking doesnt make any sense

This is one of those questions you can't answer accurately, You can usually anticipate the time taken for first coat to hazel off when you first roll on the PVA.

Short answer is between 30-60 mins

Another problem with reskimming is different surfaces on the same set, specially if its had new windows in the last 10 years, you might find some dodgy skimming round the window, most of the rest is 50 years old with the bottom half painted in silk and the top painted in matt...
timing isnt done with numbers its done with the eyes, the fingers and experience..
if its causing problems you could always go mad with the pva and use board finish...
end of the day, if your putting on a reasonable set it wont be far off ready time youve washed your tools and drunk your tea (prolly cold by now)..