k rend

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jace

well guys the time has come for me to have my first go at k rend only ever done trad render before, the fella im working for asked me about it and i explained that if he wanted normal sand and cement then im all over it but i have never done k rend before, he says its ok hes never had it before and its as much of an experiment for him as it is for me, also he says it doesnt matter if it doesnt look tippy top as he understands ive never done it before.
oh yeah i forgot to add its a flank wall of a 7 story block of flats haha:RpS_scared:, now i understand my if people say i shouldnt be doin it BUT ive explained me situation fully to builder hes happy to proceed with no fall backs on me, and u figure if i dnt try it now then wen will i get a chance to try it worry free for my first time.
any pointers lads??
its over old render so im guessing hp12, then mesh bedded into scratch then krend textured finish over top. be gentle:RpS_wink:

Last edited:
yeah by hand but its being broke down into squares i think roughly mimicking the levels between flats

im on a day rate so the areas will be broke up for me to manage proberly horizontaly then once down the middle so it wnt be to bad im not sure on the meterage of each area though as i said it doesnt matter if its not spot on (well for pride it does but its a learning curve) the wall backs onto a shite arse run down council estate well out of public eye, i think this is why he wants to try it out, as i said if it was traditional s&c id be all over it, but i figure its as gooder oppertunity to try this as any.
any pointers.
the old sand and cement is being repaired then beaded up then scratch hp12 will be goin on mesh bedded into this as its on old substrate then top over that am i right in thinking lay on rule flat then scratch 2mm of the surface to leave an even finish at this time of year would i get away with scratching it bk next day