I have been converted!.....I think

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

beddy

I've had my super flex for a couple of weeks now and struggled to see the hype. I was getting a shitty sandy look and kept me going back to my Mt. asked @scottie5 a couple of questions and decided to follow his method. This morning I spent 10 minutes with some 600grit wet and dry making sure the edges were ok.

when I was an apprentice I was taught 2 coats straight off with no flattening. as a result I learned to put it on pretty neat. as I worked with other spreads I noticed they all flattened so started doing so and as a result I think my laying on got a bit sloppy.

today I gave it a neat first coat. washed my kit off and laid in neatly straight away. washed my kit off again and flattened everything with my mt. light pressure and shallow angle. proceeded to give it two more and a polish with the super flex. all pretty much straight after the last trowel. no more than 5 min break in between. the key really is to keep the trowel as flat as possible. I managed 3 sets in both board and overskim (paint and bare plaster) with no water what so ever. finished by 3.

going back to cove tomorrow so will inspect it again but I have finally seen these trowels do work.

Last edited by a moderator:
gave the edges a good sand down. didnt flatten first coat which means in turn the top coat was on quicker

theres so many ways to make these trowels work for you personally i diddnt really change much only mabey keep the blade closer i diddnt sand it down or change any timings really. you should instinctively know what to do from just looking at the skim

How i was using it today was lay on, flatten, 2nd coat, then flatten all with mt .... then i tried to use s*p*r*lex and it made everything look dead wet so, used mt carbon and things were back to normal, then tried go over with s*p*r*lex and it makes eveything look dead wet if early or drags a bit if late.