Help with Egg shell effect lol

Danthenovice

Hi everyone im new to this so please go gentle.
I’ve just brought a house that is in need of a lot of plastering and I’m attempting to do it myself. I’m confident in doing it but I plastered a wall today and it’s all started to crack like egg shell. I know this is more then likely down to drying to quick, my question is tho, can I just skim back over it again or do I PVA first then skim it? The plaster hasn’t lifted anywhere just cracked.
Any advice will be appreciated.

Regards Dan

I’ve just brought a house that is in need of a lot of plastering and I’m attempting to do it myself. I’m confident in doing it but I plastered a wall today and it’s all started to crack like egg shell. I know this is more then likely down to drying to quick, my question is tho, can I just skim back over it again or do I PVA first then skim it? The plaster hasn’t lifted anywhere just cracked.

Regards Dan
Please don't take this the wrong way (because @Danny has asked us to be nice) but why do you "feel confident of doing it" when you clearly have no understanding of how plaster works?
Genuine question.

Regards Dan
It would definitely need pva don’t skim over dry unsealed surfaces.

Did you pva the surface before you skimmed it , if not scrape the lot off and start again

You'd be better with knauf fill and finish, put it on then rub it down. Brewers usually stocks it or SDM or DDC

Please don't take this the wrong way (because @Danny has asked us to be nice) but why do you "feel confident of doing it" when you clearly have no understanding of how plaster works?
Genuine question.

What I mean is I’m confident putting it on the walls and getting it flat just unsure about certain things that’s all,
Everyone had to start somewhere

You already know the answer.
Take it off. Pva the area, let it get tacky, then Pva again, don’t miss a single bit.
Then have another go.
Then ring a plasterer to do again, but this time smooth.