Hello - Looking for advice

Members online

Douglas Shearer

Hi Folks,
My name is Doug and I am looking to retrain in a trade. I am 34 and am a Graphic Designer by trade. Design has been good to me but what with the economic climate and oil downturn up here in Scotland things are tough and the industry is diluted with young students undercutting everyone and stiff competition for any full time salaried work.

I am looking to retrain and an looking for some advice on working as a plasterer. Basically I wan't to become a Plasterer and am willing to put in the time and effort to gain the skills and qualifications needed.

Can anyone advise on a good course to attend or progression route to take and rough duration?

Also I live in Aberdeen in Scotland and have read/heard that the Plastering trade is decreasing due to lack of housing being built, Brexit looming and the fact most new buildings are being fitted with drywalls. Is there any truth in this?.

Cheers.

I'd stay put where you are it's the same in plastering a lot of kids are doing a course then going out on there own under cutting the only way you will earn money in plastering is if you do all aspects of it and pick out the bigger complicated jobs.

Surely there is still a high demand for good plasterers though? Every local joiner/tradesman I have spoken to says that its hard work but good money once you are skilled enough.

Surely there is still a high demand for good plasterers though? Every local joiner/tradesman I have spoken to says that its hard work but good money once you are skilled enough.

That is true in a sense but bear in mind it could take you 5 years to get to a point where you are in a position to earn good money.

I'd stay put where you are it's the same in plastering a lot of kids are doing a course then going out on there own under cutting the only way you will earn money in plastering is if you do all aspects of it and pick out the bigger complicated jobs.