Damp on interior wall.

Status
Not open for further replies.

PhoenixC

Hi all Newbie here.
Happy New Year to you all.
I am looking for the best solution to damp on the interior walls coming through the gable end of my house.
It is an old stone built house (about 140 year old) The walls are around 2 foot thick, no cavities, no damp proofing and no foundations either.
The outside wall is in good condition, no cracks in the mortar and the stone is in good condition. The damp is caused by the rain coming through the west facing gable end and is a problem both upstairs and downstairs. There are also two chimneys on the same gable end. I should say I live on the edge of the north pennines and the wind and rain can be pretty wild at times (especially this last year).
The plaster is starting to blister and bubble so it needs to be removed and replaced. I think its a lime based plaster both upstairs and downstairs. I was originally thinking of a sand and cement mix with waterproofer as a first stage. But after googling I was wondering if Izonil breathable plaster would be a better bet, and then a breathable paint to decorate it.
I am capable of doing the work myself (hopefully:rolleyes)) I have quite a bit of experience in plastering and rendering before, but only in a DIY capacity. But I dont have any experience of tackling this type of problem.
Apologies for my first post being a bit long winded but I was trying to give as much info as possible.

Many thanks in advance for any advice

Hi all Newbie here.
Happy New Year to you all.
I am looking for the best solution to damp on the interior walls coming through the gable end of my house.
It is an old stone built house (about 140 year old) The walls are around 2 foot thick, no cavities, no damp proofing and no foundations either.