Courses

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

chompercharlie

Hi there. Im a newbie here but not to plastering. Did one of those 3 day plastering courses about 3 years ago in Chester. It was a total rip off.
Most of the blokes on my course walked off after 2 days. I stuck it out but I managed to get my money back. They did teach us the absolute basics but alot of time was spent sitting around. And on 1 day the teacher just didnt turn up!
Most of what Ive learned in the last 3 years has been trial and error, and picking up tips along the way, as most plasterers Ive met are very generous at sharing their knowledge.
I've tended to steer clear of big jobs and managed to find myself a nice little earner chasing and plastering in cables for a firm of sparkies. Quite an art to get it just right to match the rest of the wall.
Especially as sparkies tend to bash half the wall away to fit a 2.5mm cable!
Luckily for me, I used to be a chef and I sussed out pretty quickly that as long as my mix of multi was about the consistency of choccy mousse, I wasnt far wrong!
Now I want to get into bigger jobs.
My question is, would it still be worth doing a proper college course to NVQ? I understand its a sure fire way to getting my CSCS cards for onsite but are there any other benifits or would I be better off doing what im doing and learn as I go on the job?
The course I'm looking at is part time for 22 weeks.
Any comments would be much appreciiated.
Cheers
Chomper