Big Hello!

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

jedichi

Alright fellas, my name is Chris and i'm looking to start up a plastering business (V Slowly). I've no experience yet but am sick of my job and plastering is something i've always fancied(as well as the supposed good money). I'm doing the training course shortly(next few weeks) and then just practicing at home and for family and friends until i'm happy with what i'm doing. Had a lot of advice from friend but he was a plasterer a while ago, so could do with some current advice. Do you think this is the best way to start? if not how would you do it? what would you say are the biggest things to watch out for? any advice gratefully received...... cheers guys!!!! :cool:

hello chris,

welcome,

Money is always good with plastering, never met a poor plasterer yet. Which training course are you going on? GoldTrowel? Practicing does make perfect.... I was / am luck where as I worked for a firm but now I am on my own other than when it gets quiet.....christmas time.

You are lucky that your friend was a plasterer he maybe able to help you out of a situation on a customers house, maybe even come on the job with you.....

As far as best way to start, yes I think you are going the right way, ideally an apprenticship would be best but they are few and far between these days.

When I first started I boarded up my garage and practiced skimming and this was a major help learnt a lot.

Your course will teach you the basic principles and then you wl have to apply them and ust listen to what they have to say..... I made the mistake of not listening on my first course.... spent every night on the piss....lol

Keep us up to date onyour progress.

Danny