Assistance: Advise Please.

Members online

Cheekychee

Hello all.

I am a newbie. who doesn't know much about repair work in the house. Therefore could you give me some advice, please.

Recently I removed 'acrylic' sealant from the UPVC windows perimeter - indoor.

When doing so, the caulk removed the top layer of the plasterboard.

Thinking about the 'cross-section' of the plasterboard, the top layer is meant for paint, and now it reveals 'cardboard' like

Should I seal it with PVA / sealer, then fill the gap with acrylic sealant, and then finish off with Zinsser primer and sealer such as Bullseye 123.

OR

Drastically, do I actually need to seal the damaged perimeter plasterboard and then plaster the whole perimeter / fill it up with filler?

I received some mixed advice on what 'sealant should I use' such as acrylic sealant to be painted. OR Low modulus sealant.

I don't need to paint the sealant, as I only use white on most surfaces for ease of maintenance and gain in surface reflectance.

I do know 'adherence' for silicon sealant is important. Therefore, the correct 'steps and preparatory' work is paramount.

Sorry to bore you with it and unable to contribute much to the community because of my lack of practical knowledge in this.

Thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_20210708_193122.jpg
    IMG_20210708_193122.jpg
    608 KB · Views: 171
A decent honest post, deserves a reply. In my view, others may disagree, use a bit of simple filler to level the surface, don't worry about the gap, thats what the silicon is for. Give the filler edge a lick of ordinary paint to match the rest, then go round with the white silicon. Job done. Good luck.

A decent honest post, deserves a reply. In my view, others may disagree, use a bit of simple filler to level the surface, don't worry about the gap, thats what the silicon is for. Give the filler edge a lick of ordinary paint to match the rest, then go round with the white silicon. Job done. Good luck.
Hello Brimstone.