Using Sika 1 for backing coats

john cushnie

I've been a builder for over 40 years and have done a lot of plastering in that time, I've got an old house to replaster after it has been damp proofed using osmosis, the building surveyor wants it plastering using Sika 1 render backing coats.
the last time I did this using Sika in the first coat and scratching it I couldn't get the next coat to stick.
so for the rest of the job I only put Sika in the final render coat, the walls seem to be fine and dry now.
Question is should I use Sika for all the coats and how do i get it to stick, or is the method I used last time ok?
I should add that I will be using plasterers sand for the render from MKM.
What is the best plaster to skim it? think I used multi finish/board finish last time.

Thanks for any help

Not used sika pal but use alot of sbr and we start early and put a scratch coat on till around 11.30, have an hours lunch then turn back and top it once its green.... beats having to slurry inbetween coats....

A builder who's never come across sbr I do wonder sometimes
For your information I've worked for 23 years for a national organisation maintaining a 1000 acre site with over 80 buildings including many grade 1 listed buildings, a deer park wall, monastic wall, tennant properties, holiday cottages etc.
Most of the mortar I use is lime based, I'm currently working on a low grade building on the estate which my original query was about, I came on here to get some advice about plastering, unfortunately there doesn't appear to be much about.

For your information I've worked for 23 years for a national organisation maintaining a 1000 acre site with over 80 buildings including many grade 1 listed buildings, a deer park wall, monastic wall, tennant properties, holiday cottages etc.